Lay Council


The laity includes all church members who are not pastors and ministers. So, if we are all laity, what does it mean to be a member of the Lay Council? The local (church) Lay Council is much more than a collection agent for the five-dollar dues collected each October. In fact, we are a powerhouse of energy, dedicated to the service of God and to the African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church in general. As laity we work to develop our position as stakeholders in helping our leaders build, nourish, and strengthen our beloved Zion for the sake of humanity. This we do in an organized body called the Lay Council.

Structurally, there is a local president at each church, a District president in each district, a Conference president in each conference, and a general president for all the connections. Our local president here at the Pennsylvania Avenue Church is Larry B. Johnson, our Baltimore District president is Gail Wade (S. G. Spottswood A.M.E. Zion Church), our Mid-Atlantic II Conference president is Katherine Burrell (Clinton A.M.E. Zion Church), and the Connectional Lay Council president is Mary Matthews (Charlotte, North Carolina). Our colors are black and gold.


Brother Larry B. Johnson

President, Lay Council

(410) 728-7416

Larry B. Johnson has been an active member of the Pennsylvania Avenue Church since 1998. The immediate past president of the Board of Trustees, he is also a Co-Chair of the Culinary Arts Ministry. Brother Johnson travels the A.M.E. Zion Connection extensively, attending conferences and meetings, especially as they pertain to Lay Council and Christian Education. He is a life member of both.

Also, he is First Vice President of the Philadelphia and Baltimore Conference Lay Council, a member of the District Home Missions Board, and a member of the Education Committee of the Connectional Lay Council. A lecturer in the English Department at Morgan State University, he is also a member of the Middle Atlantic Writers Association and Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., as well as a member of the Board of Directors of the Kannapolis (NC) African American Museum and Cultural Center.